Landmark moment for Waikato-Bay of Plenty Harness

The Annual General Meeting of Waikato-Bay of Plenty Harness marked a significant milestone for the club when it’s new board was elected on Monday night.

A Special General Meeting was held in October to ask members to support both a new way of appointing the directors and a reduction in the overall board size. Members voted unanimously in favor of the proposal and on Monday night it was brought into action.

Instead of the traditional model, where members vote for individual directors, the new process is for a selection panel to conduct interviews with candidates and put their recommendation to the AGM for approval. 

The selection panel this year was conducted by Doug Wilson (Partner, Deloitte Hamilton), Charlie Hunter (Club Patron) and David Smith (Director, Dunstan Horsefeeds)

Under the previous structure the board was made up of 12 members, which has now been reduced to seven.

The changes were a key part of the club's strategic plan focusing on appointing people to the board with the relevant skill sets required to continue building on the club's strategic goals.

The newly elected directors are: Graham Bowen, John Coulam, Fiona Hunter, Courtney MacKinnon, Braedon MakGill, Peter McDermott and Ken McGrath

The meeting also saw the acknowledgement of outstanding service to the club by retiring committee members Peter Moriarty, Russell Fantham and Robbie Hughes who were all made life members of the club. -The Cambridge Raceway


This product has been added to your cart